St John's C of E Primary School, Caterham

St Johns Caterham

St John's C of E Primary School, Caterham images

The Key Stages

Early Years Foundation Stage

              "Staff provide a stimulating and challenging environment for learning."

               Ofsted, 2010

Children start school in Reception in the year in which they turn five. In their first year they follow our Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum which has received praise from Ofsted for providing a ‘stimulating and challenging’ start to pupils’ learning. There are six areas of learning that follow on from children’s preschool experiences:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Problem solving, reasoning and numeracy
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

Key Stage One

Children then move into Key Stage One (Years 1 and 2) where they follow the National Curriculum. Although there is a strong emphasis on Literacy and Numeracy skills, we also extend pupils’ skills and individual targets in the broad range of subjects and topics taught which include creative arts, sports and humanities.

             "Children are encouraged and enabled to become independent learners."

Key Stage Two

In the year they turn eight, children move into the Junior School (Years 3 to 6). The curriculum continues to be challenging and engaging but is expanded to include a modern foreign language, French. Pupils sit the National Key Stage 2 SATs tests in May for which they receive careful support and tuition to ensure they reach their predicted levels.

From Reception to Year 6 all children are encouraged to read at home. Homework is set throughout the school, as appropriate for children in different year groups, and may include spellings, maths and topic work.

Please click here for a link to the Department of Education School Performance Tables