St John's C of E Primary School, Caterham

St Johns Caterham

St John's C of E Primary School, Caterham images

Governing Body

Our Governing Body is made up of Parent, Staff, Local Education Authority and Foundation Governors. The number of each group of Governors is set down in law. 



PP = Pupil Premium, LAC = Looked After Children, SDBE = Southwark Diocesan Board of Education, PCC = Parochial Church Council


Category Body appointed by Current Term of office Committees and panels Positions of responsibility
Mr. Robert Veale Headteacher Ex Officio   All  
Father Jerry Garton Foundation Ex Officio   Admissions, Faith Group

Faith group lead

Church Distinctiveness

Mrs. Annette Armitage Co-Opted FGB 1/5/2018 - 30/4/2022  T&L  
Mr. Oliver James Hamner Foundation SDBE 15/09/2015 to 14/09/2019

Admissions, T&L, F&R


Chair of Admissions

Vacancy Foundation PCC
Mrs. Kate Amanda Gordon Foundation PCC  21/02/2016 to 20/02/2020

Chair of T&L, HT Appraisal

Faith Group

Vice Chair

Teaching and Learning and Pupil Outcomes

Vacancy Foundation SDBE
Mrs. Lucy Janet Hubery Foundation PCC 06/12/2016 to 05/12/2020

T&L, HT Appraisal

Pay Committee


Health and Safety

Early Years Foundation Stage

Mrs.Jackie Thompson Foundation PCC 7/2/2018 to 6/2/2022 Chair of F&R


Mr. Matthew Godfrey LA LA 23/3/17 to 22/03/2021 T&L


Mr. Andy Holland Parent Parent 23/3/17 to 22/03/2021  F&R, Premises


Mrs. Denise Birkett Foundation PCC 12/03/2019 to 11/03/2023 T&L


Mrs. Mandy Settle Parent Parent 25/02/2016 to 24/02/2020 F&R, Pay Committee

Finance lead


Vacancy Staff Staff


Ex Governors          
Mr. Jacob Stewart Staff Staff 09/07/2018 to 1/06/2019


Mr. Grayson Clarke Foundation PCC 16/07/2017 to 01/04/19 F&R


Mrs. Emer Daniels Staff Staff 06/11/2015 to 05/11/2019


Mr. Chris Botten Co-Opted FGB 08/06/16 to 12/16


Mr. Michael Cooke Foundation PCC 25/04/2013 to 24/04/2017

Teaching and Learning and Pupil Outcomes

Finance Lead

Mrs. Chantal Cross LA LA 01/09/2014 to 13/06/16 Resources, Pay, staff dismissal panel/appeals Pupil discipline, lead for personnel, leadership development, workforce
Mr. Roger Aburrow Foundation PCC Resigned 13/05/2016 Executive Group Chair of Governors
Mr. Chris Botten Co-opted FGB Resigned 25/01/2016 Executive Group  
Mr. Roy Carnell Parent Parent Resigned 11/02/2016 Resources, Pay Health and Safety lead
Mrs. Susan Gibbin Foundation PCC



S&PW Chair of Governors
Mr. David Dobson Parent Parent


Resources, Pay, Admissions  
Mrs. Sarah Hinton Foundation PCC


S&PW Chair of Standards and Pupil Welfare Committee
Mr. Ian Hutchinson Foundation PCC Resigned 25/01/2016 Resources, Pay Health and Safety lead
Mrs. Lorin Lafave Foundation SDBE


Mr. Alister Moses Acting Headteacher Ex Officio


All Acting Headteacher
Mrs. Melissa Lavin Foundation PCC 4 years from 04/08/2015 – Resigned 1/11/2015 S&PW, pupil discipline panel Faith group